Nerds candy is a child’s dream and comes in neon colors with a small pebble shape. From extremely sour to extremely sweet, they’re fun to eat and full of flavor. If you’re following a vegan lifestyle and like to indulge in a package of Nerds from time to time, you may wonder, are Nerds vegan? Can vegan eat Nerds?
Table of Contents
Ingredients in Nerds
Similar to many candies, Nerds are primarily made of sugar. The following basic ingredients are found in the majority of Nerds flavors:
- Malic acid
- Corn syrup
- Natural flavors
- Carnauba wax
Depending on the types of Nerds, different flavors and colors are added.
Looking at this list of ingredients, it appears that Nerds are suitable for vegans, but the problem lies within the food colorings and additives used in some of the flavors.
In fact, you may be surprised to learn that most of the colorings in the red and pink flavor options come from Carmine, a red food coloring derived from bugs! Because of this, these types of nerds are not vegan!
In addition, most of the flavors include a warning on the packaging advising that the candy may contain egg, which is not at all suitable for a vegan diet.
Are Blue Colored Nerds Vegan?
We already know that red and pink colored Nerds include food colorings in the ingredients that are not vegan-friendly The Watermelon and Cherry Candy Nerds also have added colors, such as Blue 1, Red 40 Lake, and Yellow 5.
The good news is Blue Grape Nerds are actually vegan. So, if you’re a fan of Nerds and following a vegan lifestyle, be sure to stock up on the Blue Grape flavor!
Are Nerd Ropes Vegan?
Unfortunately, because Nerds Rope candy generally has multiple colors, they do contain Carmine food coloring and as such, are NOT vegan.
Do Nerds Have Gelatin in Them?
The answer depends on the type of Nerds. According to their website, regular Nerds and Big Chewy Nerds do not include gelatin in the ingredient list, however Nerds Rope candy and Nerds Gummy Clusters do contain gelatin.
You May Also Like